SA Recording Memory

The genius of the STICK family.

Moderators: simonB, nick, florent, Ben

Post Reply
EVOLVEINSTALL
Experienced Forumor
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:46 pm

SA Recording Memory

Post by EVOLVEINSTALL » Sun Jul 24, 2022 9:48 pm

Using ESA2 to program a CW4.

8x RGBW units on Universe 1 and 2x RGBW on Universe 2

Memory capacity (20 ch.)
2729 steps
Memory capacity (512 ch.)
124 steps

So in total. Universe 1 is 32 DMX / Universe 2 is 8 DMX.

Why does Universe 1 DMX033-512 get accounted for within the step programming allocation? It will all be 000/Null values but consumes memory space, and a lot of it!

EVOLVEINSTALL
Experienced Forumor
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:46 pm

Re: SA Recording Memory

Post by EVOLVEINSTALL » Sun Aug 14, 2022 9:00 pm

Any response upon the above?

Why does a 2 universe Stand Alone device with Fixed Memory record all the 'Non Programmed' channels between Universe 1 and Universe 2?

And is this compressed? as far as i am understanding - if i don't compress my scene nothing is compressed!

EVOLVEINSTALL
Experienced Forumor
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:46 pm

Re: SA Recording Memory

Post by EVOLVEINSTALL » Sun Aug 14, 2022 9:03 pm

On that Note..

Can you tell the device to output Universe 1 on Universe 2 port? as usual, a work around.

On ESAPRO2 and ESA2?

HarriGoodair
Junior Forumor
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2022 2:47 pm

Re: SA Recording Memory

Post by HarriGoodair » Mon Aug 15, 2022 8:45 am

Hello Rob,

Sorry we missed this one, I'll look into it now and update this thread when I have more.
Kind regards,

Harrison Goodair
Technical Support

HarriGoodair
Junior Forumor
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2022 2:47 pm

Re: SA Recording Memory

Post by HarriGoodair » Mon Aug 15, 2022 8:56 am

Hello Rob,

If you could email me a copy of the show file that would help greatly!
Kind regards,

Harrison Goodair
Technical Support

HarriGoodair
Junior Forumor
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2022 2:47 pm

Re: SA Recording Memory

Post by HarriGoodair » Tue Aug 23, 2022 8:41 am

Hello Rob,

I'm afraid that this is functioning as intended. Unfortunately this is a limit with the stand alone engine used in the CW4.
This is something that's been corrected with our newer devices (DINA specifically) so it shouldn't be an issue moving forward.

I apologise I'm unable to offer an alternative solution at this time.
Kind regards,

Harrison Goodair
Technical Support

EVOLVEINSTALL
Experienced Forumor
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:46 pm

Re: SA Recording Memory

Post by EVOLVEINSTALL » Sat Sep 24, 2022 1:17 am

Thanks,

I think this should be noted on the STICK website/Tech Spec, so others don't get confused or misguided. SLESA doesn't have this issue, as you can change the outputs (Like below)

It could be a simple fix with allowing Universe 1 to be duplicated onto Universe 2, So essentially it becomes a DMX Splitter

Post Reply