colorkinetics

Sunlite Touch Sensitive Intelligent Control Keypad

Moderators: simonB, nick, florent, Ben

Post Reply
radcom
New Forumor
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:31 pm

colorkinetics

Post by radcom » Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:35 pm

Can someone tell me if the GU-2 would be compatible with a Philips DMX compatible Data Enabler?
http://www.colorkinetics.com/support/us ... nabler.pdf

nick
Maxi Forumor
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 2:37 pm

Re: colorkinetics

Post by nick » Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:51 pm

Hi,

Thank you for your question. Any device which can receive and understand DMX signals is compatible with our DMX controllers. Looking at fig 6., page 2 of the pdf, you can see that the DMX controller (i.e. Stick-GU2) connects to the colorkinetics device using an RJ45 cable.

The Stick-GU2 has a 5 pin Euroblock socket at the back, so you will need to strip an RJ45 cable at one end and connect the correct cables (DMX +, - and GND) to a Euroblock plug. See further details on connecting it here.
https://storage.googleapis.com/nicolaud ... eet_en.pdf

An alternative is the Stick-GA2, which comes with an RJ45 socket for DMX out. This will enable you to connect an RJ45 cable more easily.
https://storage.googleapis.com/nicolaud ... eet_en.pdf

Kind Regards,

Nick.
Nicolaudie Tech Support

radcom
New Forumor
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: colorkinetics

Post by radcom » Mon Feb 13, 2017 5:52 am

Can't wait to give it a try,
Thank you

radcom
New Forumor
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: colorkinetics

Post by radcom » Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:11 am

I have now connected the GU2 to the color kinetics data enabler and there seems to be no communication.
Enabler works when connected to iW (intelliwhite) Cove powercore and using previous analog DMX switch. I am trying to convert enabler to ebay purchased icolor (RGB) cove fixtures and use a Stick controller. These seem to be my possible problems:
Enabler is programmed for 2 channels and not RGB
DMX wiring is reversed
RGB cove fixtures have been previously addressed out of range
Defective RGB fixtures
Enabler is not RGB compatable
Preloaded program on GU2 not compatable
After testing wiring do you have any suggestions what to do next?

nick
Maxi Forumor
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 2:37 pm

Re: colorkinetics

Post by nick » Wed Feb 22, 2017 9:11 am

Hi,

Thank you for your message. You said you are trying to get it working with a icolor (RGB) cove fixtures. Is it these?

http://www.colorkinetics.com/ls/rgb/covemx/

On the Phillips datasheet it says "Color-changing and IntelliWhite® lighting fixtures using Powercore technology from Philips ColorKinetics (excluding iColor® Accent Powercore)."

I have bolded the text that suggests it is not compatible with the Data Enabler. You may want to check with Phillips.

Datasheet:
http://www.colorkinetics.com/support/da ... cSheet.pdf

Kind Regards,

Nick.
Nicolaudie Tech Support

radcom
New Forumor
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: colorkinetics

Post by radcom » Sat Feb 25, 2017 7:02 pm

Great Greetings Nick,

Here is the link to the fixture I am trying to connect to the data enabler and the GU-2.
My fixtures have the part number 123-000004-01 which seems like an older version of the one you have link to.

http://www.colorkinetics.com/.../iColor ... cSheet.pdf

It says on my cove fixture "use only with data enabler #106-000003", which is what I have so I don't think compatibility is the problem. I will call Philips and double check though. I will also verify the DMX pin configuration on the RJ45 jack, I can't seem to find any documentation on that. Assuming fixtures and enabler are in working order how do I investigate address range? I don't have the part to readdress fixtures so is there a way to program the stick to send a command to all 512 address's? Do I have to slide each bar up individually in the ESA software or can it be done globally? Do I need to include different universes too?
Thank you very much for your help

radcom
New Forumor
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: colorkinetics

Post by radcom » Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:55 am

I have verified enabler/light compatibility and DMX pin configuration with Philips. Now I think I need to either readdress the fixtures and/or find a way to send a command to every conceivable address option. Is this even possible?
Thank you for your time

nick
Maxi Forumor
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 2:37 pm

Re: colorkinetics

Post by nick » Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:59 pm

Hi,

That's good news that Phillips have verified compatability.
DMX wiring is reversed
Have you got a DMX Tester to test the output through the RJ45 plug on the cable between the Stick-GU2 and Data Enabler? If not, a low cost RGB LED fixture addresses to channel1 will show you if there is signal. It's possible to get DMX cables with RJ45 sockets at one end and DMX 3 Pin XLR plugs on the other. See attached image.
RGB cove fixtures have been previously addressed out of range.
The datasheet of the DataEnabler says "All Color Kinetics lights are addressed to DMX number one at the factory". Have you got the software to check which DMX address your fixtures are addressed to?
Preloaded program on GU2 not compatable ?
By default, the Stick-GU2 demo scenes will output an RGB DMX signal starting from the base address 1. There is no DMX channel information on the iColor Cove MX SpecSheet. This usually means it will understand standard 3 channel RGB DMX information (i.e. channel 1: red, channel 2: green, channel 3 : blue) but it may be worth checking with Phillips just to make sure?

Kind Regards,

Nick.
Attachments
s-l1600.jpg
s-l1600.jpg (6.68 KiB) Viewed 5029 times
Nicolaudie Tech Support

Post Reply