Stability problems when using Ports

Sunlite Touch Sensitive Intelligent Control Keypad

Moderators: simonB, nick, florent, dylan, Ben

Post Reply
jansynnersten
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:45 pm

Stability problems when using Ports

Post by jansynnersten » Fri Sep 06, 2013 7:47 pm

Hi

I am using relays to generate bitcodes for triggering scenes via the 4 ports on the KU1.

Very often one scene (Bitcode 13) triggers and the lamp switches on. This without any movement on the relays. Like a ghost is starting a scene:)

Any idea why?

Maybe the ports voltage can be stabilized by putting a 10 k ohm resistor from port 1-4 and to the 6V plus?

Any other idea?

/Jan

simonB
SuperMaxi Forumor
Posts: 1630
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:50 pm

Re: Stability problems when using Ports

Post by simonB » Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:19 pm

Hi Jan

Disable the infra red to be sure that this isn't interfering. If you still have the same problem:
-check the distance. If it's more than 20 meters, it could be an interference related issue
-you could try to add an RC filter to help remove any noise
Simon
--
Sales/Support

jansynnersten
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:45 pm

Re: Stability problems when using Ports

Post by jansynnersten » Wed Sep 18, 2013 12:08 pm

Hi

I have now solved it.

I connected four 10k ohm resistors from Port 1-4 and to the +Power.

The cables are only 1 meter, going to 15 analogue relais produsing the bitcode.

Can it be the usage of relais that gives some kind of interferance? What do you normally use for creating the bitcode? optocouplers?

/Jan

simonB
SuperMaxi Forumor
Posts: 1630
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:50 pm

Re: Stability problems when using Ports

Post by simonB » Thu Sep 19, 2013 9:19 am

Hi, be sure not to overload the ports with more than 3.5 volts. A relay can cause some interference, and as the ports are dry contact, they are very sensitive to noise
Simon
--
Sales/Support

Post Reply