Setting Scene Speed Remotely

Sunlite Touch Sensitive Intelligent Control Keypad

Moderators: simonB, nick, florent, Ben

Post Reply
riebschlager
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:15 pm

Setting Scene Speed Remotely

Post by riebschlager » Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:18 pm

I'm trying to use the remote protocol to set a scene's speed and I'm having no luck.

The remote protocol guide says that there are two bytes you pass for the "configured speed value" but I don't know how those values relate to a percentage, or how exactly the unit is using those values internally. Any help?

Also, it seems that changing speed value after starting a scene will throw it into an infinite loop, even though the scene is marked to only play once. Is this avoidable?

nick
Maxi Forumor
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 2:37 pm

Re: Setting Scene Speed Remotely

Post by nick » Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:38 pm

Hi,

Thank you for your message. I have not managed to replicate the infinite loop. Can you describe in more detail?

I believe you're trying to use Quick Triggering commands?

Here is the reference.
https://storage.googleapis.com/nicolaud ... otocol.pdf
As you mentioned it, unfortunately, does not explain how to use the 2 bytes to control speed.

Here is what I have found using Packet Sender :

10 in decimal = 1% on the dimmer.

Example A : Scene A1, Speed 20%.
53 74 69 63 6b 5f 33 41 6D 00 01 00 00 06 00 00 C8 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

Key numbers:
01 = select scene 1, page A
06 = speed command
C8 00 = c8 = 200 in decimal, which = 20% on the dimmer.

Note: You must have the scene selected on the STICK-DE3 to visibly see the change on the LCD display. This is not a change scene command.

But what if you need to set 50% speed? i.e. We send number 500 in hex = 1F4. How do we write this in the hex string?

Example B : Scene A1, Speed 50%.
53 74 69 63 6b 5f 33 41 6D 00 01 00 00 06 00 00 f4 01 00 00 00 00 00 00

Key numbers:
f4 01 = 1f4 = 500 in decimal = 50% speed


Example C: Scene A1, Speed 100%
53 74 69 63 6b 5f 33 41 6D 00 01 00 00 06 00 00 e8 03 00 00 00 00 00 00

Key numbers:
e8 03 = 3e8 = 1000 in decimal = 100% speed

Example D: Scene A1, Speed 200%
53 74 69 63 6b 5f 33 41 6D 00 01 00 00 06 00 00 00 7d 00 00 00 00 00 00

Key numbers:
00 7d = 07d = 2000 in decimal = 200% speed

If you need any more help.

Kind Regards,

Nick.
Nicolaudie Tech Support

riebschlager
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:15 pm

Re: Setting Scene Speed Remotely

Post by riebschlager » Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:50 pm

This is super helpful, thanks Nick!

riebschlager
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:15 pm

Re: Setting Scene Speed Remotely

Post by riebschlager » Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:35 pm

To expand on the "infinite loop" I was wrong about that part. Here's what's actually happening.

I have a long strand of lights. I want to "knight rider" a block of 10 lights to one end and back. I need this to happen for specific durations. When I modify the speed of the scene, it speeds up the effect, but it repeats for the total duration of the original scene.

So if I have a 10 second scene and play it at 200%, it doesn't stop at 5 seconds, it plays 2x the speed for the full 10 seconds. Is this more or less unavoidable?

Post Reply