Binding scenes and switches to keys

Sunlite Suite 2 is a complete re-design of Suite 1. Please discus any issues here

Moderators: simonB, nick, florent, RichterMC, dylan, Ben

Post Reply
MarkoftheWild
Experienced Forumor
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:58 am
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Contact:

Binding scenes and switches to keys

Post by MarkoftheWild » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:53 pm

We use a touch screen and the keyboard to do our shows. So far it has worked out great. But as we add more lights and features it get more interesting. Right now it seems that you can only use two keys at a time. For instance. We have a key set for the fog machine, one for the strobe and one for a combination of static pars. I am unable to use all three at one. I have to release a key to make another work. Is there a way to be able to use all the keys at once? or at least 10, one for each finger and thumb?

Also how about a way to disable a key. The way we have the keys set sometime we accidentally hit the caps lock key. Our fingers are flying around the keyboard and well it just happens. When it does happen it seems to either keep the light on such as the strobe or it makes other lights not work as it is not bound to the capital key. Its not that big of an issue right now but it may become one in the future as we ad more fixtures.

I will have more soon. I had a some questions but forgot to write them down so I will have to wait till i come across the situation again. Damn nightclubs...LOL

I also meant to send the video that i have to make chases and will try to do so today. I will have to send it via sendit as it is pretty large. I will also send you my latest showfile today sometime so you can see it and let me know what you think and if you have any suggestions

Thank Again!

PS. I just saw that I am know a junior forumor. I am moving up the ladder!! LOL
Mark Green
Mark of the Wild
PO Box 1102
Talkeetna, Alaska
907-744-1633 (mobile)
907-562-6689 (office)
www.markofthewild.com
mark@markofthewild.com

simonB
SuperMaxi Forumor
Posts: 1630
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:50 pm

Re: Binding scenes and switches to keys

Post by simonB » Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:49 am

Is there a way to be able to use all the keys at once? or at least 10, one for each finger and thumb?
No. Buy an iPad. Lol.

Are you sure it's not a limitaton of your touch screen?
Simon
--
Sales/Support

MarkoftheWild
Experienced Forumor
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:58 am
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Contact:

Re: Binding scenes and switches to keys

Post by MarkoftheWild » Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:41 am

Sorry, I should have been more specific. When I talk about keys i am referring to the keyboard. You can only use 2 keys at once on the keyboard. Any way to use more than one key at a time? say like holding down the "a", "s" and "d" keys on the keyboard at once?
Mark Green
Mark of the Wild
PO Box 1102
Talkeetna, Alaska
907-744-1633 (mobile)
907-562-6689 (office)
www.markofthewild.com
mark@markofthewild.com

simonB
SuperMaxi Forumor
Posts: 1630
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:50 pm

Re: Binding scenes and switches to keys

Post by simonB » Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:54 am

You should be able to hit up to 5 keys at once without any issues. I think that this is a windows limitation so if you need more you'll need to use a MIDI console.
Simon
--
Sales/Support

MarkoftheWild
Experienced Forumor
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:58 am
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Contact:

Re: Binding scenes and switches to keys

Post by MarkoftheWild » Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:36 pm

simonB wrote: I think that this is a windows limitation
Hmmm, ok , I'll have to look and se if there is a way to do this in windows...

Thank You
Mark Green
Mark of the Wild
PO Box 1102
Talkeetna, Alaska
907-744-1633 (mobile)
907-562-6689 (office)
www.markofthewild.com
mark@markofthewild.com

hsteppke
Super Forumor
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:57 am

Re: Binding scenes and switches to keys

Post by hsteppke » Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:28 am

Hi,

i dont know Sunlite yet (consider buying it) however i know from a friend of mine that it could as well be a limitation of the keyboard.
there are specific keyboards like MS sidewinder X6 / X4 that or Razor Tarantula that allow more then some keys been send to the PC.
Gamers call it "Anti Ghosting" or something similar. No keys are Ghosted .... if that is the right English term.

Havent used such a keyboard for Sunlite yet but i know for other Software like e:cue programmer that such keyboards are usfull.
- they have a backlight for the keys. isnt´t it dark most of the time we need them :)
- makro keys allow you to programm multiple keys to additional makro keys eg "Ctrl + F1"
like on the sidewinder there are keys on the left side that would help to switch between pages or to have scence on them.

For your keyboard you can test here http://random.xem.us/rollover.html and it deppends on what keys you press as well eg in my Desktop keyboard i just use to get this text in.
If i pres WASD -> only WA goes out so only 2 keys
If i press DSAW -> DSA goes out so 3 keys

Bye

Holger

Post Reply